Type 1 Mama turned Stalker

Standard

So My son is at Farm camp this week and I am his nurse : ) ( there is a nurse, but she doesn’t “do Diabetes”…LONG story!! see my previous post for that one!) Anyhow, Matt was dx almost 2 years ago and has slowly been taking more responsibility, I try to take his lead, because, I honestly don’t want him to do any of this daily grind of diabetes until he is ready, I figure, he is only 8 and has to do this forever, so anyhow,  at camp, I check him just before drop off, pop in for a lunch check and bolus and then before and after swimming and for last snack. I am on standby (in the parking lot) for emergencies…so yesterday, he asked if he could check himself before swim, I painfully said (with a smile) “of course” Told him if he was below 100 to have 15G uncovered.  Then I sat in the parking lot filled with anxiety…what if he decides not to check or forgets or he is 50 and only has 15G, what if the lifeguards don’t notice he is low and he wanders to the deep part of the pond, what if….etc, (I know most of you ladies get it!). So I walked to the pond thinking I would sneak to get his meter and check his number and eyeball him all without him seeing me…I really don’t want him to know I am checking up on him and have him think I don’t trust that he can do these things….so as I was standing, crouching down hiding in the woods a camp counselor approaches me and asks” can I help you?” which really translates into “hello crazy kidnapper like person…should I call the cops??” So I say  (brilliantly), “oh Hi, don’t worry, I am only stalking my own kid, he has diabetes ” she says “oh, okay.” and slowly walks away…I assume trying still to decide if she should call someone!  So I sneak down to the beach, and of course, my son’s counselor who has his meter is way down by the water next to my son..I can’t get to her without being seen, I am wishing I was a ninja, you know the type that can creep in and out of somewhere without being seen,( like I used to do the soldier crawl out of my kids rooms when they were babies, for fear they would see me and wake up!) But, the soldier crawl here on this beach will definitely end with me in an asylum!” So I sit next to another counselor and tell her the whole crazy story and she says ” Oh, I get it, my cousin is 10 and he has Type 1…my aunt is just as crazy as you!” Huh…did she just call me crazy to my face?  Yup, call it like you see it I always say! I am crazy and i will continue to be crazy to keep my babies safe!  By the way, his counselor saw me, and came over to say he did great. He was 96 and ate a 15g snack uncovered. You go Matt!!! Someday I will tell you I was a stalker mom!  But for now, I will just continue to stay in ninja mode ( and hope not to get arrested!!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

